Pixie Park was founded in 1952 by Mrs. Terwilliger and the American Association of University Women (AAUW). It was started as a safe place to play for the children of volunteers who were working at the Marin Art and Garden Center. Within a year, 30 families were using it and they saw a need to expand this special place for children. The families then gathered donations for the first buildings: the Pavilion and an original playhouse.
Many more trees and buildings were donated over the following years. The membership grew to 150 families within the first few years, and they saw a need for a fundraiser to expand and improve Pixie Playground. The group of women who were using it became autonomous from the AAUW in 1958 and became Pixie Parents, Inc. The first fundraiser was called the Easter Egg Hunt, which later became the Easter Fair and is now the Spring Fair. The first egg hunts were host to 300 children and were successful at raising the monies that Pixie Parents needed to improve the Park.
Today, Pixie’s Spring Fair welcomes over 2,500 children each year. In addition to the Spring Fair, Pixie raises funds through an annual Winter Holiday Bake Sale. Pixie also holds a Halloween Parade, just for fun, for Park members only.
The purpose of Pixie’s fundraisers is twofold: to continue to maintain Pixie Park as a clean, safe place for children and grandchildren, and to continue to support and maintain the Marin Art and Garden Center. It is because of the Marin Art and Garden Center that Pixie has such a beautiful and unique environment for children and grandchildren to thrive.